Jim Folts   Blount County Commissioner


“To stand in silence, when they should be protesting, makes cowards out of men” - Abraham Lincoln

Campaign Brochure

Special Report on our County Schools

Commission Meeting Videos

Commission email addresses

Next Meetings

  • Blount County Commission - Thursday April 17th, 7:00 pm, room 430, Blount County Courthouse
  • Citizens for Blount County's Future - Tuesday April 15th, 6:30pm, Blount County Library

Report Archives

Feel free to let me know your views on county issues
. Just send me an email at jimfolts@gmail.com, or give me a call at 995-9476.

The Blount County Commissioners

Citizens for Better Government

Current Information

The work has begun

On September 1, 2010 I took the oath of office as Blount County Commissioner. I was elected to listen to you and make your opinions known to our County government. Feel free to measure me against the issues we talked about in the campaign. A link to my campaign brochure is included in the left column of this page. Let me know how I am doing by emailing me or phoning me at the address and numbers shown in the left column.

To keep you posted, I will include a summary of each Commission meeting on this page. I will list the important issues covered in the meeting, as well as the results of each vote on those issues. You can also view the video of each meeting by using the link in the left column.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to earn your confidence.

Candidate Recommendations - Please Vote May 6th

A number of you have asked for my recommendations on the candidates running for Commission and other County offices. I have only listed candidates where I have knowledge of their views on your county government, and think they will do a good job of representing the citizens, rather than the special interests.

County Commission Candidates
Commission District / Voting Place
Seat A
Seat B
District 1: Everett, Maryville municipal, Martin Luther King
Archie Archer
District 2: Alcoa, Louisville 8th, Mentor, Pellissippi
Mike Akard
Douglas Benton
District 3: Eagleton Middle Cafe, Eagleton Middle Gym, John Sevier
Sean Thompson
District 4: Board of Education, Chilhowee View, Fairview, Montvale
Linda King
Karen Miller
District 5: Maryville College. Maryville HS, Maryville Middle
District 6: William Blount HS, William Blount Middle
Thomas Cole
District 7: Big Springs, Carpenters Middle, Friendsville, Happy Valley, Lanier
Troy Ball
Tona Monroe
District 8: Townsend, Walland, Heritage Middle, Oakview
District 9: Rockford, Porter, Shooks Gap
Steve Simon
District 10: Beech Grove, Louisville, Middlesettlements, Miser Station
Jamie Daly
Larry Henry
NR = no recommendation
Countywide Offices
General Sessions Judge - Division 2 (Juvenile Judge)
Kenlyn Foster
County Clerk
Roy Crawford
All other countywide offices - No Recommendation

Only YOU can change YOUR government

Please Vote May 6th